How to Convert an Expired JAR Licence to an EASA Licence

Updated on 29th July,2016

JAR to EASA Licence Conversion

EASA Licence Conversion

Now that the EASA regulations have been fully implemented, I am getting enquiries from worried pilots who have let both their helicopter type rating and their licence expire. The old JAR licence needed to be renewed every 5 years. The new EASA Licence (more correctly referred to as a PART-FCL licence) has no expiry date.

The literature relating to renewing an expired licence is difficult to find in the Part-FCL document but after trawling through the relevant documents and with some help from Simon White in the IAA, I was able to get the correct information.

First of all, there is no need to panic or worry if your old JAR licence has expired. It is a relatively simple process to renew it. Anyone wishing to renew an expired JAR license to EASA license should ensure that they do the following:

  • Have a current Class 1 or Class 2 medical certificate
  • Have passed the English Language Proficiency (ELP) test and reached a level of at least level 4.
  • Complete the requirements to renew any helicopter type rating (a licence cannot be issued without a type rating). Refer to my previous post “Renewing an Expired EASA Type Rating
  • In Ireland – complete the application form
  • Pass the oral and flight skill test

On successful completion of the above, the Authority (IAA in Ireland) will issue an EASA Licence.

Note that there is no longer a requirement for a Type Rating written exam. The examiner will test applicants verbally before the flight test. You will still be required to have the necessary technical knowledge before the examiner will issue a pass.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Did you enjoy this post? Why not leave a comment below and continue the conversation, or subscribe to my feed and get articles like this delivered automatically to your feed reader.


No comments yet.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.